Snow Dog!

Rarely does the weather do what we’ve been told it’s going to do, but on Friday it did just that.

Snow, and lots of it.

To be honest, by the end of the day, when I got the chance to head out myself, I was sick of the sight of peoples’ pictures splashed all over the news on TV and websites…OK, it was more than the average amount we’re used to seeing here in the UK, but surely it wasn’t enough to justify the endless reminders of what it looks like and how much of it there is…Twitter was engulfed by a cloud of white, it was as if no one between the ages of 18-60 had ever seen snow or ice before. I guess there’s always a bit of excitement surrounding the snow, but perhaps it’s the digital age that’s created a seemingly-hysterical reaction to the stuff!

At home, I have a large canvas print of Izzy, our 5 year-old Hungarian Vizsla dog, on the wall in our sitting room. I took it a couple of years ago on a sunny day in Devon. I took the opportunity of a day off on Friday to get out and take some pictures of her once again, this time in opposite surroundings, to see if I could capture something that would directly compliment it the print we already have.

Walking around a park with a camera attached to a 400mm f/2.8 lens would usually attract some inquisitive looks and the occassional question, but I guess the snow made it seem more acceptable, with people appreciating that was taking the chance to get some pictures I wouldn’t usually be able to. I was happy with what I came away with, and I reckon the image of Izzy standing up looking directly at me may well be the one for the wall…

 

Izzy, a smooth-haired Hungarian Vizsla, with snow on her nose
Izzy, a smooth-haired Hungarian Vizsla, with snow on her nose

 

Izzy bounding around in the snow
Izzy bounding around in the snow

 

Izzy, with snow all over her face
Izzy, with snow all over her face

 

Izzy wants to know what I'm waiting for
Izzy wants to know what I’m waiting for

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

