2014 FIFA World Cup: The Journey Begins

A year on from the ‘World Cup warm-up’ that is the FIFA Confederations Cup, and the main event is now just around the corner. I’ve revisited my schedule, drawn up on an Excel spreadsheet, more times than I care to remember, checking and double-checking that everything has been accounted for. Every detail has been considered, travel logistics have been put in place as best they can be, and now I’m days from the start of the tournament.

Packing was a relatively straightforward process on this occasion…having visited the country last year, I was acutely aware of what I did and didn’t need. Despite this, I still had my worries when my hold bag zipped shut far more easily than I’d expected it to.

My camera roller bag, a ThinkTank Airport International v2, and my rucksack, a ThinkTank Shapeshifter, have just about been able to accommodate the gear I’ve needed for the trip…

Canon EOS 1DX (x 3)
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8 II
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4 II
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8
Sigma 50mm f/1.4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 IS USM II
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8 IS USM
Canon EF 1.4x III
GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition

In addition to cameras and lenses, a number of straps, caps and rolls of tape have made it in, as well as a Manfrotto monopod, Toshiba laptop, 1TB hard drive, cards and card readers, plug, chargers, waterproofs…the list goes on.

I didn’t have the patience, nor the time to spread it all out for a picture. Give it a while…this will appear at some point soon.

Leave a Reply

