Emre Can

Another visit to the Malmaison Hotel in Liverpool, to carry out another commission from SportBild, with another shoot with the Reds’ German defender Emre Can.

The brief for this shoot was slightly different to the last time we met, and certainly different to what I’m used to.

Ahead of Liverpool’s European double-header with German side Augsburg, the magazine wanted to interview Can and the Augsburg goalkeeper Marwin Hitz to get a unique perspective of the tie. The only problem – one was in England, the other was in Germany, and neither could get from one country to the other in time for the feature to be published.

The only way to conduct the interview was over the internet, using an iPad and Facetime. My job was to take pictures of the interview from my end,  whilst another photographer did the same over in Germany.

I darkened the conference room we’d been given and sat Emre at a table in front of a large window, allowing for natural light to illuminate my subject, before it dropped off to leave me a black background behind him. I lit any patches that needed balancing with a couple of LED blocks, and did my best to stay out of the frame for the other photographer!!

I shot some tight portraits during the morning when I had the chance, and posed Emre up for a quick shot at the end too. All in all, a strange but enjoyable morning, and some pictures I was pleased with at the end of it. They’re available exclusively via Offside Sports Photography.

 

Leave a Reply

