Best of 2016

When I decided I wanted to be a photographer, with an emphasis on sport, I had no idea where to begin, nor where it would take me. From the bloodied canvas of a boxing ring on an amateur fight night in the north west, to a muddy University rugby field on a bitterly cold and usually-uneventful Wednesday afternoon in Preston, my introduction to the industry was a varied one. I spoke to a few professional photographers along the way, friends of mine now though most of whom, I’m sure, won’t remember, to see if anyone could point me in the right direction. I received the harshest of criticism from my University lecturers too, as well as from the earliest of my employers. For some reason, though, I still wanted to carry on. Perhaps just to see if I could get it right.

A decade has since passed, and looking back now, I’m still not quite sure how it all worked out. Preston Guildhall, then the Maracana; Bamber Bridge FC, then suddenly Twickenham…it’s been a (mostly) enjoyable journey.

My 10th year freelancing for Offside has been another busy one, as always spent more often than not on the sidelines of football pitches. I’ve put together what I feel is my best selection of pictures from 2016, I just hope a few of you like them too…

Leave a Reply

